"Secrets of the Six Wives" re-aired August 2017.

About the Show

Premiere date: January 22, 2017

Historian Lucy Worsley time travels back to the Tudor Court to witness some of the most dramatic moments in the lives of Henry VIII’s six wives. Combining drama based on eye witness accounts, historical sources and Lucy’s own contemporary historical comment, Lucy moves seamlessly from the present to the past. In a world run by men where the king had ultimate power, each queen (as well as their ladies in waiting) found their own unique methods of exerting influence. For the first time, it is these women’s stories that Lucy wants to uncover, witness and explore, as well as offering her own take on Henry himself. 

Read more about the episodes below.

A Closer Look at "Secrets of the Six Wives"

More About the Episodes

Divorced (Premiered Sunday, January 22) 

Worsley examines the happy marriage of Henry VIII to first wife, Catherine of Aragon. Despite her skill and devotion as his queen, she fails to give Henry the son he needs and he falls for Anne Boleyn.

Beheaded, Died (Premiered Sunday, January 29)

Henry breaks with the Roman Church to marry Anne, but as Worsley notes, he grows tired of her and falls for Jane Seymour. Anne’s fate is sealed; she is executed and Henry immediately marries Jane, who dies soon after she gives birth to a son.

Divorced, Beheaded, Survived (Premiered Sunday, February 5)

Worsley presents the last three wives: Anne of Cleves, called “ugly”; young Catherine Howard, whose tragic childhood was abusive; and finally, the far from saintly nurse, Catherine Parr.

"Secrets of the Six Wives" was produced by Wall to Wall.

Wall to Wall

Related Links

| Secrets of the Six Wives
Choose Station
When to watch

Secrets of the Six Wives

Local Station:

Choose Station

Streaming on:

Your purchase supports PBS and helps make our programming possible.

Support your local PBS station

PBS Video App

Stream the best of PBS.
Anytime, anywhere.

television laptop tablet phone
Download the Free App